Skip to content

~ Ask Me ~

October 7, 2010

The Smiths ~ Ask

Shyness is nice and

Shyness can stop you

From doing all the things in life

You’d like to

Shyness is nice and

Shyness can stop you

From doing all the things in life

You’d like to

So, if there’s something you’d like to try

If there’s something you’d like to try

Ask me I wont say no, how could I?

So you asked me and now I am telling you.   I don’t have a STRESS FRACTURE in my heel.   WAHOO!!!!    You don’t know how happy that makes me.

I am, however in the dreaded boot.  It’s so awkward to walk in this thing.   But, for once, I don’t feel the pain in my heel.   Oh, yeah ~ it is achilles tendonitis.   The doctor felt all over and told me that my pain is at the exact spot where the achilles tendon inserts into my heel bone.

From Sports Injury Clinic.Net

It is estimated that achilles tendonitis accounts for around 11% of all running injuries. The Achilles tendon is the large tendon at the back of the ankle. It connects the large calf muscles (Gastrocnemius and Soleus) to the heel bone (calcaneus) and provides the power in the push off phase of the gait cycle (walking and running).

 

Achilles tendonitis is an overuse injury. Too much too soon is the basic cause of overuse injuries, however other factors can contribute to developing the condition.

  • Increase in activity (either distance, speed or hills).
  • Less recovery time between activities.
  • Change of footwear or training surface.
  • Weak calf muscles.
  • Decreased range of motion at the ankle joint, usually cause by tight calf muscles.
  • Running up hills – the achilles tendon has to stretch more than normal on every stride. This is fine for a while but will mean the tendon will fatigue sooner than normal.
  • Overpronation or feet which roll in when running can place an increased strain on the achilles tendon. As the foot rolls in (flattens) the lower leg also rotates inwards which places twisting stresses on the tendon.
  • Wearing high heels constantly shortens the tendon and calf muscles. When exercising in flat running shoes, the tendon is stretched beyond its normal range which places an ‘abnormal’ strain on the tendon.

He prescribed PT 2x a week for 6 weeks.   I am 100% doing this.  I need this thing fixed.   Oh plus that big ass boot.

As far as Marine Corps Marathon.   I honestly have no idea right now.   I promised myself I will not do anything stupid.   It is not worth it.  I want to be able to run pain free and if I am in pain, there is just no way I can run a marathon.   I am both sad and disappointed in myself.   This pain has been around for a while now, and all I did was ignore it.   I thought I knew better.   I can beat myself up and obsess over it, but that will do me no good.  So, I move forward.  And now that I know what I am finally dealing with, I can do what needs to be done.

Please friends, don’t ever ignore a pain that doesn’t seem to go away.

Interesting fact about Rocktober 2010. It has 5 Fridays, 5 Saturdays and 5 Sundays. Happens once every 823 years. Good luck in Chinese fengshu.

And here is the REAL story:  GeekOSystem They have the real story!!!!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 1:05 pm

    Very, very good advice on not ignoring a pain that doesn’t go away. I self-diagnosed plantar faciitis, but didn’t go to a doctor for a long time. It wasn’t until I went to a doctor, who was also a runner, that I got real help to get rid of it. My self-diagnoses was right, but that doesn’t make me an expert! I’m glad you have some answers now. I hope you get better and get back to running soon!

  2. October 7, 2010 1:47 pm

    Glad it’s not a stress fracture, but sorry to hear you are in the boot. Hope it heals fast!

  3. Renee permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:56 pm

    Glad to hear it is not a stress fracture. It is so much easier to say after the fact to go to the doctor. I put it off way too long this year even though I said I wouldn’t do that again. I took time off and thought I would be ok. My best advice is listen to your body and physical therapist. Get healthy, there is always another race.

  4. October 7, 2010 2:33 pm

    Glad it is not as serious an injury as you feared. Sorry it happened to you. You have a good attitude! Stay strong and you’ll be back before you know it!

  5. michelle genin permalink
    October 7, 2010 2:59 pm

    you have the best attitude about this. you will heal quickly and be pain free soon!

  6. October 7, 2010 3:10 pm

    Listen to the Doctors and, as MCM is only 3-weeks away I would look to defer until next year.

    The MCM is only one race and there are lots of marathons to run. What you need is some rest & recovery.

    All the best,

    Ron

  7. RunnerJ824 permalink
    October 7, 2010 3:13 pm

    I’m sorry to see you in a boot, but glad you got the confirmation on your injury. Also a very smart move to skip MCM, you’re on a great start to recovery.

  8. October 7, 2010 6:50 pm

    sad to see the boot, but it’s good to know what the injury is and how to get better.
    i had a stress fracture last year and felt so sad about not being able to run, i wasn’t even training for anything. but not running for 6 weeks, 8 weeks, maybe even 10 so the body can heal is worth it for a lifetime of miles.
    chin up. they’ll be many many more miles for you.

  9. October 8, 2010 12:47 am

    Ahhh man! At least you know what it is now. A friend had this SAME thing happen right before last year’s Philly marathon. She really wanted to run Boston and this was her last chance last year to qualify. She didn’t run.

    She healed and ran last Sunday in the Lakefront Marathon. You can do it. Let yourself heal and you will get back out there!!

  10. October 9, 2010 9:23 pm

    Sorry I’m just now reading this, Michelle. There’s been a lot going on in my life recently. 🙂 I have the same boot, well not really the same, mine’s black. I don’t have to wear it anymore though. I know you’ll get there soon too. Hang in there! I love your attitude, you are one awesome lady!

Leave a Reply

