Skip to content

~ It’s Not Easy Being Green ~

October 8, 2010

It’s not that easy being green
Having to spend each day the color of the leaves
When I think it could be nicer being red, or yellow or gold
Or something much more colorful like that

It’s not easy being green
It seems you blend in with so many other ordinary things
And people tend to pass you over ’cause you’re
Not standing out like flashy sparkles in the water
Or stars in the sky

But green‘s the color of Spring
And green can be cool and friendly-like
And green can be big like an ocean, or important
Like a mountain, or tall like a tree

When green is all there is to be
It could make you wonder why, but why wonder why
Wonder, I am green and it’ll do fine, it’s beautiful
And I think it’s what I want to be

It’s also not easy being the runner in the boot.  Not to toot my own horn at all, but I am known as the “runner” in the apartment building I live in.   I lost count of how many times I had to tell people “why” I am wearing a boot.  I’ve had people saying things like “did you break your leg”?  “Is that a cast?”   “Oh no”

I play it down and say something like “it’s just my tendon, no biggie”.

The boot is the color of “healing”  It’s grey.  The boot is cool and friendly-like.  Because the boot takes on the personality of its wearer and if anything, I am cool and friendly-like. The boot is big, well like a boot.  And the boot can be important like a pretend cast, or tall like when a short person wears it.  When the boot is all there is right now,  I will faithfully wear that boot, because its what I want to do.

I made a decision.   Even if I do not “run” Marine Corps Marathon, I will still head on over to DC to

  • Maybe go to the expo.  Why not?
  • Meet up with ALL of my friends who are running MCM
  • Drink lots of beer
  • Cheer on ALL of my friends who are running MCM
  • Drink more beer
  • Do some more cheering.
  • Go to the expo (ooops said that already)
  • Have FUN!!!
Good luck to every single person running a marathon this weekend.  CHICAGO and Portland and Mohawk Hudson River Marathon. I applaud and salute you all.
Does Jazz Hands Count?
Friendships born on the field of athletic strife are the real gold of competition. Awards become corroded, friends gather no dust.  Jesse Owens,

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 2:42 pm

    I think if you don’t run MCM and go, you’ll have an awesome time. And you’ll be able to walk just fine the next day. 🙂

  2. October 8, 2010 3:29 pm

    Oh, sister. Don’t be sad OR disappointed in yourself. You’re being smart. And neither you NOR marathons are going anywhere. You have every opportunity in the world to run another if MCM10 isn’t yours this year. Either way, you’re going to have an amazing weekend with amazing people. Chin up. Rock that boot. XO.

  3. October 9, 2010 12:42 am

    hey girl. keep on truckin!! you’ll be back at it in no time. It’s like the saying goes “What percentage of long time runners get injured at some point”…the answer please.. it’s about 100%. Take this time to have fun, drink beer as you said and reflect on how lucky you are. Lots of people that I know can’t run 1 block let alone 1 mile or 13.1 or 26.2 or….and they are completely healthy.

    smile
    repeat
    smile
    repeat

  4. October 9, 2010 3:40 am

    Sounds like a good plan. And Kermit <3!

Leave a Reply

