Skip to content

~ I Can Do Anything Good ~

October 9, 2010

Yep, that’s me.  Guess I was trying to remove that very fashionable hat or something.

So, over the past few days, something has occurred to me.  Well, lots of things occur to me, but this in particular really got me thinking.   Yes, I am injured and I cannot run.  It’s been just over 2 weeks now of not being able to run.  In a weird way, I don’t miss it that much.   Don’t get me wrong, I love running.  A LOT.  But in these 2 weeks of not running, I am able to concentrate on other things.  I am able to shower support on all of my friends that really need it.  This makes me feel good.

I have been noticing a trend though.  Throughout twitter, there are numerous folks with injuries.   ITB ~ Heel ~ Hip ~ Ankle.  You name it.  In the throes of fall marathon training there are more and more injuries occurring.   Not surprising, I guess.

Anyway, I think what I’m trying to say is being injured, while it sucks and it’s hard to come to terms with sometimes, is not that bad.   It gives you lots of time to think and come up with plans and even make future plans.  It helps to have things to look forward to.  It helps to have amazing support from good friends.  Given the choice, of course I want to be 100% healthy and running.   But, since I can’t right now, I always look at the bright side.

There have been days when I longed for a run.

I have been getting my baking on.   Completely enjoying the process of following a recipe.  Much like following a marathon training plan.  With just the right measurements of everything, you come up with a fantastic pumpkin bread or some delightful cookies OR you get to run a marathon.   :O)

I’m feeling good that I am finally doing something about my achilles tendonitis and not pretending it will just go away.   Today was my first day at physical therapy.   As i was telling my story to Lorainne, my physical therapist, she nodded knowingly saying she sees a lot of runners this time of the year.  She asked if I had plans to run NYCM and I said proudly, nope Marine Corps.   I told her straight away, I am here to heal and I will do whatever it takes.   I think she liked that attitude.  She wants me out of the boot ASAP, so we did some stuff.  Stretching mostly.  She made me walk back and forth, do some range of motion stuff and then she massaged my calfs.  She said I have really tight calves.   So, I have some stretching homework to do.

Jessica’s “Daily Affirmation”

Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first and the lesson afterward.”
– Vernon Law
One Comment leave one →
  1. ally permalink
    October 9, 2010 2:25 pm

    This is so true, I was saying to Steve last night about how many are injured right now!!! Keep on keeping on girl !!
    Love ya

    ally

Leave a Reply

