Skip to content

~ Accelerated Rider ~

October 11, 2010

Oct 9 2010 ~ Long Bike Ride ~ 36.13 miles in 3.24.53

I only planned on riding loops in Prospect Park.  I was even talking to Aimster on my blackberry saying just that.  Then, I had the sudden realization of the big or whole picture.  While Prospect Park is delightful and the loops are great, its just not the ride I wanted yesterday.   So, I quickly BBMed Aimster and said “changed my mind, I think I will ride over the Brooklyn Bridge!  Woo!  And off I went.

The photo above is where I entered the West Side Greenway.   Chambers St, NYC.   At that point I was already over 12 miles in.   All felt great and I rode the Greenway until I hit 18.35 miles.   At that turnaround I snapped some more photos.

So pretty, so peaceful.  I really love to ride the Greenway.  That photo can be a bit deceiving though, because there are many areas that are crowded and a bit crazy.   More so on a bicycle than for a runner, I think.

The Hudson River.   Seems nice and tranquil doesn’t it?   Blue skies up above and blue water to compliment it all.   Again this was a little over 18 miles into my ride.

On the way back, I spotted my friend Kristin.  She was running a 20 miler LSD run today with her friend and my new friend Jo.   So I slowed down a bit to chat.  They both looked strong and happy as they were almost finished with their run.   Small world huh?  I always seem to bump into somebody I know.

So, at about 25 miles or so I guess when I was riding back over the VERY crowded Brooklyn Bridge, I started having a weird calf tightness and something else odd.  I felt an odd pain in my left foot right about by my ankle.  It would hurt then subside.  Kinda felt like a vein was popping or something.   I quickly forgot about that when my stomach started rumbling and asked for some food.  I had none.  Didn’t plan on that long of a ride.   So, the next 11 miles were a race to get home so I could nourish myself.   And nourish myself, I did.

I have to say I really love cycling as a form of cross training.  Or as exercise period.  It’s fun, outdoorsy and special.

When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race.  ~H.G. Wells

If you worried about falling off the bike, you’d never get on.

The bicycle is a curious vehicle. Its passenger is its engine.
~John Howard

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 2:56 pm

    I wish I had the same love of cycling. But, alas, I do not.

Leave a Reply

