Skip to content

~ Bib #25823 DID NOT START ~

October 15, 2010

So, today I decided to take a walk.  I figured 2 miles would be just about right.   And it really was.  In between the walking I decided to run 2 minutes, 2 separate times.   And I did.  I was able to run 2 minutes.  2 separate times.  When I got back home, I went to the stairs and stretched out my calves.  Well let me back up, when I was walking the heel/achilles but mostly the place where the achilles tendon inserts in the heel bone, started hurting more than it has been.   That concerned me very much.

I iced diligently and it felt better.   I then emailed my orthopedic doctor as he told me to and he said that I need to continue wearing the boot and going to PT for 2 more weeks then come to see him again.   Two weeks puts me right at Marine Corp Marathon.  It was then that I knew I would be a DNS.   I really didn’t want to admit it to anyone, much less myself.  But, I know its the right thing to do.   I simply cannot see myself “running” 26.2 miles after not running for 3 weeks PLUS.

My training before that was going well.  I got in a few long runs and felt good and confident.  I knew I wasn’t going to be the fastest or the swiftest, but I was sure going to give it all I had.   I am not a quitter.  If I set out to do something, I do it.  Usually.

In my head and my heart I know better now.  It just doesn’t feel right.  It doesn’t feel right for me to run a marathon with less than adequate training with an injury.   And not only that, it would be downright silly.

How does all this make me feel?   More disappointed than sad.   More frustrated than angry.   A little envious of everybody else running.   Just a little.   I am trying to look at the bright side of all of this.   Perhaps, its not meant to be?   I’m not even really wanting to run it anymore if that makes even a shred of sense.

I already shifted my focus from running/training/tapering/carb loading to Tweetups/beers/fun/halloween/zombies/meeting cool people/food/dailymilers and most of all cheering on all of my friends running Marine Corp Marathon.  You all know who you are right?   Because, I certainly do.  I can even take photos and stuff.   So, I will be there not only in spirit, but in real life.   I am needing a break anyway from my life at home.

I am excited about things to come.  Hashathon 6 mile trail run on November 14th and HATRun March 19th 2011.   For now, that’s all I got.

I just want to listen to the new Sufjan Stevens CD and chill.


an marathon runner and coach

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Ms V. permalink
    October 15, 2010 9:28 pm

    waaaaaaaah. Seriously Michelle, you have to take care of your body. Can you defer??

  2. October 15, 2010 11:20 pm

    With the training you’ve already done, you’re certainly not going to lose much fitness by not running. Hang in there, get better and close out the year the best you can and hit 2011 on a good note.

    And keep blogging! 🙂

  3. October 15, 2010 11:21 pm

    Michelle, I’m so sorry for your DNS and your disappointment. But you are so right to not risk further injury. Take care of yourself and heal. It would be terrible to try and walk or run this marathon with your heel not yet healed. It would get so much worse and just prolong the recovery. I know it is terribly difficult to be patient and do what’s right here. Been there and dealt with that before. Give yourself a big hug and a pat on the back for doing the right thing. I am so happy that you are taking care of yourself.

  4. October 16, 2010 3:10 am

    Sorry to hear this Mich. But I love your optimism in the face of obstacles… 🙂 That’s what makes you an amazing athlete. You have strength of mind AND body.

  5. October 16, 2010 1:03 pm

    Listening to our bodies when they tell us to stop is the hardest part of running (for me). Great job respecting your body.

  6. October 16, 2010 1:29 pm

    This was inevitable. You simply can’t do a race like that when you get whacked the way you did. All it can do is make you more determined to get to the next one. Or the one after that. I’ve had 6 NYC Marathon numbers in the last 7 years, but have only raced one. For me it’s NYC 2011.

    And I didn’t know this HAT thing is on St. Joseph’s Day.

  7. michjoy61 permalink*
    October 16, 2010 1:38 pm

    Joe, I may be at NYC 2011 too. We can train together!!! :O) OR better yet, I can be your running sherpa and tend to your every need!!! :O)

    Yep, HAT thing is on March 19th.

  8. October 16, 2010 6:10 pm

    I know it may not feel like it right now, but you’re definitely doing the right thing. NYC 2005 was supposed to be my first marathon, but I wound up not being able to run it due to coming down with a nasty case of plantar fasciitis. Yeah there were those who were telling me to just run it and not worry about my time…but what’s the point in that when I want to do my best? The good news was that I healed, rehabbed and had a great marathon debut in 2006. Focus on getting this thing healed, train smart and I know the same will happen for you next year 🙂

  9. October 17, 2010 1:24 am

    so disappointing..but at least you have the right attitude! Way to look ahead and get healthy!

  10. October 18, 2010 1:40 pm

    Sorry about that, but it’s the best decision. You’re in for the long haul…there are other races

  11. October 19, 2010 7:55 pm

    That’s very sad news for you but in the long term it will be for the best. Heal up soon and get your running strength back. All of the runners you support will also be 100% grateful to have you there for them, too. All the best to you.

  12. October 25, 2010 5:36 am

    I think you did a very smart thing! It is hard but it was right and smart!!!! I’ll see you in a week!

Leave a Reply

