Skip to content

~ It’s A Beautiful Day ~

October 25, 2010

Adorable 4 year old boy:   Hi whatcha doing?

Me:  Hey, just looking at my phone.

A4YOB:  Are you texting?

Me:  Umm, yep

ArYOB:  Why aren’t you out enjoying the day?

BOOM!!!

Well, if that didn’t pop me out of my reverie, I don’t know what will.  This little boy was so serious in asking me why I wasn’t enjoying the day.  The sunny day, he made it a point, to say.   And that brought me back to yesterday, when I did indeed enjoy my day.

That is Jennifer, myself and Daniel over at The Pier in Piermont.

An awesome bicycle ride to Piermont with some great friends.  This is a ride I would probably never do alone, so I was really grateful for the company.  I left my home on time, but because of construction, I had to get off the subway train I was on, lug my bicycle back down the steps and ride 2.5 miles in the dark to the next working train station, making me 20 minutes late.  I really dislike being late to places, but more than that, I dislike keeping people waiting.  Everybody waited for me and was cool about me being late, so I felt better immediately!

It’s fun.  The ride over the George Washington Bridge afforded us stunning views of the trees and their glorious autumn colors.  So, pretty and breathtaking.  As I rode, I kept glancing over to look and kept a steady grin on my face.   The ride to Piermont is nice.  Some uphills, but mostly flats and downhills.   Oh how I love the downhills.  So much fun.  When we arrived at Piermont some 16 miles later, I think we were all hungry and ready to eat.  We stopped at Bunberry Coffee Shop for some really nice muffins and coffees.   We chilled for a bit and had a good chat.

Jennifer, Daniel and Scott chowing down on some yummy muffins and coffee.

And then we headed back.   Now, remember the mostly flats and downhills on the way to Piermont, well of course there were plenty of uphills on the way home.  I was hoping these hills would go into hibernation for the winter, and give me a break, but no such luck.  I truly tried to ride up the hills, but my legs just couldn’t focus on the pedaling that needed to be done and soon I found myself very out of breath and hardly moving.  I knew I could move faster on foot, so I got off the bike and walked.   Then I saw Bernard and he yelled at me, nicely of course and coaxed me back onto my bike and even gave me breathing tips to conquer the hills.  And I did.  For the most part.

At about 30 miles into the ride, I started thinking how tired I was feeling.  My shoulders were sagging a bit and even though it mid October it was kinda hot.  Afayter we rode back over the bridge to NYC, I decided to ride to the Greenway and head down to 57th St and over to the train.   It was lovely and all in all I rode 41.79 miles in 3.32.08.

I really had a lot of fun. I got out and enjoyed the day.   As cheesy as that may sound, its true.  And I was taught a good lesson today from the adorable little 4 year old.  I think he is wise beyond his years and even cared a little bit as to why I wasn’t enjoying myself.   Ok, well that could just be my imagination but still…..

If you want to fly, you’ve got to give up the shit that weighs you down.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 12:43 am

    4-year-olds and monkeys sure seem to be giving us some motivation lately. We can all learn a lot by those who don’t take life so seriously.

  2. October 26, 2010 12:50 am

    That’s something I’ve always wondered about City folk riding up. They get there, hang out and they’re only half-way done.
    You rode the bike.
    You had your fun.
    If it was a hike.
    It was still no run.

  3. October 26, 2010 7:43 pm

    Wow! Out of the mouths of babes. Our phones and other things sure can bog us down sometimes.

  4. October 27, 2010 9:16 pm

    That ride was a lot of fun. We certainly managed to enjoy the day!

    And Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

