Skip to content

~ May You Live All The Days Of Your Life ~

October 27, 2010

October 27, 2010.

I am sure most of you already know, today is my birthday.   I think its very fitting that:

1) I got a nice birthday greeting from Marine Corps Marathon being that I am leaving for DC bright and early Friday morning.

2) I got so so so many happy birthays on Twitter and Facebook and Dailymile.  I am really overwhelmed.  And thankful.  And happy that I have all of you in my life.  You all make my life so much richer and special so THANK YOU ALL!!!!

3) Today was my follow-up at the orthopedic doctor ~ for my achilles tendonitis.   It has been 3 weeks since I’ve seen him, and 4 PT sessions later.  5 weeks since I had a proper run.  He FREED me from the boot.  I no longer have to wear it.  He also said, I can start to run.   EASY.  Not a lot of miles.  Test the waters, so to speak.   He also said if the pain worsens, to stop and come see him again.   Not sure what he would do, but I trust him and will listen to him.   He also looked sad when I told him I won’t be running Marine Corps Marathon.  Or maybe that was my imagination?   Oh also, what I was doing in PT, I can replicate at home, so he feels that would be fine.  The only thing I can’t replicate at home is the awesome massage I got at PT.   Any volunteers wanna come massage my calf and achilles tendon area?

So, I am happy, but its really bittersweet.  I am tinged with a bit of sadness at the fact that while I will be in DC, I won’t be running my marathon.   And now that I can run, its confusing to me.   Should I just go for it and run MCM??   Ummm, NAH!!   I already deferred.   It’s a done deal.

I have a question to anybody who would like to answer:

How do I start back running?  I mean I know how to run, but I don’t know how many miles to run, how many days a week.  How fast or slow?  I feel like a newborn baby learning how to walk for the first time.   Well, I am a runner learning how to run again and how to not get injured.  It’s hard, ya know?

So that is my birthday/halloween cupcake I treated myself to.  Actually, my mom treated me.  I’m enjoying my day and am off to get a pedicure.  I may go black.  I had a few senior moments today, as my sister likes to call it.  Let’s see, I left my keys hanging in the mailbox.  Luckily somebody saw it and brought it up to my house.   I was making instant starbucks coffee this morning.  Don’t judge, its doable.  Anyway, I poured the coffee into my oatmeal bowl instead of my mug.  Oh and I butt dialed Steve (pushups) Speirs twice and butt DMed my coach Caleb once.  There were a few more things, but I will let it go at that.

A birthday is just the first day of another 365-day journey around the sun.

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 8:24 pm

    I think the walk/run is a good way to ease back into it. But would go for 2-3 miles 3x-4x a week and see how your body adapts. And NO VIBRAMS!!!!!

  2. October 27, 2010 8:26 pm

    If I’m nervous, I go for as long as I can until I feel something and then immediately stop. I recall once being thrilled about making it 500 meters around a track without pain. And I just got farther and farther. If there’s no pain, I also tend to go too fast. I die quickly. (I remember blowing up on a half-mile run. I mean wheels-off-the-body/call-the-emt blowing up.) Then I go a little farther and a little farther.

    Bottom line: listen to your body, bridle your enthusiasm, be patient, give yourself time. It’s a process and the most important thing is to get it behind you so in six months you won’t even remember just which heel it was that caused you so much trouble.

  3. October 27, 2010 8:27 pm

    Happiest of birthdays to you! Have a fabulous day! And congrats on getting the green light to run again. 🙂

  4. Barb permalink
    October 27, 2010 8:46 pm

    I’m with Sam on this one.
    Sadly, I agree about the Vffs too- at least for a few weeks. Then maybe add them in 1X per week. 🙂
    Happy birthday!

  5. October 27, 2010 9:01 pm

    Congrats on getting cleared from the doc! I just got cleared last week and I’ve been easing back in too. I had compartment syndrome so lower leg issues too. We found a plan together to get started… if you want a copy I’ll send it to you.

    Happy birthday!!

  6. October 27, 2010 9:02 pm

    Couch to 5K! perfect recovery plan! Happy birfday again!!

  7. October 27, 2010 9:13 pm

    Happy birthday Michelle!!

  8. October 27, 2010 9:27 pm

    Happy Birthday!! I am sorry you won’t be running the MCM but YAY for being allowed to run again!!! I would start slow with a run/walk and see how it goes. Good luck!!!

  9. October 27, 2010 9:50 pm

    Hey Michelle!

    Happy birthday, congrats on getting released from PT and cleared to ease back into running.

    I’m going to give ya my two cents, for what it’s worth 😉

    1. Definitely keep doing the exercises and stretches that the PT gave you to do as your “home work”. This will keep things calmed down as you EASE back into running.

    2. Start out slow and conservative. This means, no speed running, no long distance, and be PATIENT!

    3. I think the Couch to 5K is a good way to ease back into things. It’s a good program, and useful for those who are going from no activity to a 5K. HOWEVER, I don’t know how you’ll adapt to just running 3x per week, since you’ve been cycling. 😉 Puts you a bit ahead of the game cardiovascularly, but as far as your physical state and keeping the tendinitis at bay- listen to your body.

    4. LISTEN to your body!! If you notice you’re sore, or start to have pain- DON’T push it!

    5. I think running easy, short mileage 3x a week and increasing distance or intensity by 10% each week will be good for you. Of course keep cycling if you feel you need the release and exercise. Do what your body can handle. And if you feel like doing more, maybe wait until the next week to push it.

    6. ICE if it hurts after a run. Keep any inflammation down. It can come back.

    7. Strengthen your core, hip flexors, butt, and work on flexibility. My theory on injuries is that running injuries (and most non-contact injuries) are caused by: muscle imbalances, inflexibility, and poor running form. I’d have your gait analyzed, to make sure you’re running with good form, and identify what’s weak so that as you increase your running load, you can keep working on the weaknesses and make them your strengths.

    8. I’d lay off of the VFFs for now. You can gradually work them back into your workouts, and on soft surfaces, with a GRADUAL increase in mileage and intensity in those VFFs. Don’t run too fast, for too long in those. Otherwise, you’ll be back at the PT. (Honestly, I’d work on one thing at a time. Maybe wait until the spring to get back into the VFFs).

    9. Hang in there! And if you ever need anything, you know how to find me 😉

  10. October 28, 2010 1:25 am

    Again, Happy birthday to a spectacular woman! Hope you enjoyed it to the fullest!

  11. October 28, 2010 2:22 am

    I suggest short, slow runs of 2-3 miles a few times a week for a few weeks and just ease back into it that way. Also, to make up for not being able to run Sunday, get up before the race starts and go run 2.62 miles instead. That would be cool.

  12. michjoy61 permalink*
    October 28, 2010 2:28 am

    David, awesome idea. Very COOL!!!!

  13. March 6, 2011 5:57 pm

    H Michele!

    Sorry to read about your mom. Having to be the parent sucks….we all go through it to some degree.
    Following you on Twitter, (I’m boomerbodycoach) 🙂
    I hope you will follow me back.
    I have some ideas for you. Feel free to email me. Wishing you the best!
    mary beth

Leave a Reply

