Skip to content

~ Relaxed and Smiling ~

November 20, 2010
tags:

Relaxed and Smiling will be my mantra for my new training cycle starting Monday November 22nd 2010.  My training for the 2011 HATRun that is.   To say I am excited is an understatement.  Coach Caleb crafted a wonderful plan for me and gave me many tips for stress free training.   So, I am going into this with an open mind and heart.  I will do whatever it takes to avoid getting injured AND at the first sign of pain, I will take the necessary rest days and/or PT and icing, foam rolling/stretching and core to fix the problem.

Now, as I thought about all this relaxed and smiling stuff, I also in the back of my mind know me.  I know the sort of person I am.  And there is a name for me.  I am a HSP.  Highly Sensitive Person.

I am easily overwhelmed by stimuli. I am affected by other people’s moods.  I am easily startled.  I need to withdraw during busy times to a private, quiet place. I sometimes get nervous or shaky if someone is observing me or competing with me.  HSP, shorthand for “highly sensitive person,” describes 15 to 20 percent of the population. Being sensitive is a normal trait–nothing defective about it. But you may not realize that, because society rewards the outgoing personality and treats shyness and sensitivity as something to be overcome.

So, there you have it.  I am totally cool with being a HSP because I think it actually makes me a better person.  More attune to my needs and even the needs of others.  I am kinda putting this out there because it took me a very long time to realize just how very sensitive I am.  I have a lot to deal with with my mom and all of her health issues.  It’s very difficult and really stresses me out.  My running is the only thing that really relaxes me and gives me a sense of freedom.  My problems disappear with each foot strike.  But, they are always there.   Like I am wearing a backpack full of my problems and I try to throw it off of my shoulders.  Never really works.

I’ve been told numerous times to toughen up.  Stop worrying.  I’ve been told I am weird and different.  I don’t think so.  I don’t think I need to develop a thicker skin.  Okay this makes me look like a total geek but what can I say? I’m just somebody who is overwhelmed by a lot of stimulation because, that’s right, I’m a highly sensitive person. I have a special and awesome power.   And I will leave it at that.

So, I start my training cycle on Monday November 22nd 2010 and I will be relaxed and smiling the whole way.  I will continue doing my CORE work.  Maybe add in some yoga.  I will stay focused and have fun.   It’s really all in the little things you do to keep your big body working properly.   Grease and oil er up and she will run perfectly.

866 Running Miles for 2010
Can’t stop listening to the Beatles this week.   Because:
  1. I love them
  2. They rock
  3. So many awesome tunes to choose from
  4. I love them
The Beatles ~ Paperback Writer
Paper back writer
Dear Sir or Madam, will you read my book?
It took me years to write, will you take a look?
It’s based on a novel by a man named Lear
And I need a job, so I want to be a paperback writer,
Paperback writer. 

It’s the dirty story of a dirty man
And his clinging wife doesn’t understand.
The son (The Sun) is working for the Daily Mail,
It’s a steady job but he wants to be a paperback writer,
Paperback writer.

Paperback writer (paperback writer)

It’s a thousand pages, give or take a few,
I’ll be writing more in a week or two.
I can make it longer if you like the style,
I can change it round and I want to be a paperback writer,
Paperback writer.

If you really like it you can have the rights,
It could make a million for you overnight.
If you must return it, you can send it here
But I need a break and I want to be a paperback writer,
Paperback writer.

Ok, so I want to be a paperback writer.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 3:03 am

    Michelle, that’s an excellent mantra!
    The world would be a very boring place without us weird, different, geeky people. And ‘d hate to imagine it without sensitive people. Embrace it 🙂 And of course, happy training!

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    November 20, 2010 3:12 am

    Thanks Erica, I appreciate that!!!

  3. November 20, 2010 2:10 pm

    I hope this training plan goes well for you! Remember to take a day off if you want to take a day off.

  4. November 22, 2010 3:41 pm

    You’re so darn cute! Love to you, sister! 🙂

Leave a Reply

