Skip to content

~ Inaugural “Will Run For Beer” Beer Run

November 23, 2010

Friends don’t let friends run, drink beer and then run some more.   Or do they?   Yeah, they do.

So Sunday was the first ever “Will Run For Beer”  Beer run that Claire organized.   To say it was a lot of fun is really an understatement.

Quickly:

  1. Dive Bar
  2. Firehouse
  3. Amsterdam Ale House
  4. PJ Clarke’s

Total run miles was about 5.5 miles.  18 of us total, the youngest participant in the Beer Run was Joe’s daughter 19 months old.  She held her own for sure.

I consumed 2 full beers and 1/2 of a cider.  I had a Red Hook and a Cold Hop.

We all agreed that Cold Hop had a distinct floraly finish with some earthy after tones.  Here is what Cold Hop REALLY is:

A unique brew with a rich golden hue.  It’s pleasantly fruity.  Floral hop aroma, perfectly balance the mild sweetness of the english grains, for a refreshing yet high-gravity british style ale.

We sure know our beers, don’t we.

The running itself was so much fun.  We were noticeably more excited as the drinking was in full force. There was much cheering and shouting and calls of “Beer Run!” and invitations to strangers to join us.

I was thinking how the internet and twitter brought to me such amazing friends.  I am very appreciate of everybody.   Thank you to Carlos @multisportdad for treating me to a Red Hook at Firehouse.   Thank you to Maura for keeping me safe.  Thank you to Claire for organizing a very fun Sunday.   Running and drinking beers with friends.  Really can’t get any better than that right?

I want those socks!!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 6:28 pm

    Sounds like a ton of fun. I’d love to do this some day!

  2. November 23, 2010 8:29 pm

    Oh how fun! Would totally do this. And that beer sounds fabu! Have to see if I can find it around here. 🙂

  3. November 23, 2010 11:56 pm

    I don’t drink anymore, so this wouldn’t work for me for sure. Almost makes me feel sick thinking about it. LOL!

  4. November 24, 2010 2:51 am

    So glad you came out for it and had fun! Great to see you as always. And of course thanks for letting me get home with my socks on!

Leave a Reply

