Skip to content

~ Prospect Park Turkey Trot and Some Other Stuff ~

November 28, 2010

Prospect Park Turkey Trot 5 Miler  11-25-10    49.54

A turkey trot is an excellent way to start the 4 day Thanksgiving holiday.  I haven’t run a race in a while so I thought, why not?  It’s not far for me to travel to and its a throughly enjoyable race.   5 miles in Prospect Park with some hills thrown in.   Met up with Scott before the race and I learned a thing or two about good pre-race execution.   Just getting there early and giving yourself enough time to use the bathroom and perhaps make some good fashion choices depending on the weather.  And then of course lining up with enough time to sort of “get ready” to run.   I’ve run many races where I literally had only enough time to quickly use the bathroom and then run quickly to the corrals. So meeting up with Scott was a really good thing.  It made me feel much more relaxed pre-race then I ever was before.

5 miles 49.54 9.58 min/mile
Mile 1 9.37
Mile 2 9.57
Mile 3 10.25 (uphill)
Mile 4 10.20
Mile 5 9.52

So, my first week of HATRun training is in the bag.  Two runs of 40 and 60 minutes.  The Turkey Trot and then today a quality 8 miler.   It has been a very long time since I have run this distance without taking any walk breaks.   I really can’t even remember the last time that happened.   Today, I thought to myself to give it a shot.

  1. Your mantra for this training cycle should be “Relaxed and Smiling.”  Just have fun with it.  All this mileage is going to make you fitter, faster, and stronger without even thinking about it.
  2. Walk breaks are OK, in fact, they’re encouraged on long runs.  All that matters is you’re able to cover the distances without getting injured.  So, on long days, enjoy the running and plan to take short walk breaks (because you’re going to during the 50k, just like everyone does!).

Well, today I decided to see how far I could run without a walk break.   I ran all 8 miles.   I just kept it easy and steady.   It didn’t feel too hard and I wasn’t breathing hard either.

8 miles  1.25.21   10.40 pace

Splits:

10.46, 10.42, 11.06, 10.39, 10.45, 10.35, 10.43, 10.34

As the weeks progress and the miles become longer, I will absolutely take those much needed walk breaks.   So, I am feeling confident that my running is finally going in the right direction.  This coming Sunday I have the Joe K 10k race in Central Park.  Again, no goals or expectations.  I do need to get 10 in so perhaps 4 before.  Or 2 before and 2 after.

Running is a pretty good thing!!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 12:20 am

    good job on the 5 miler!

  2. November 30, 2010 12:22 am

    You did fantastic, Michelle! Don’t call it a comeback…. she’s always been there. 😉

  3. November 30, 2010 4:31 pm

    So glad to see that you’re running again.

    Nice trot young lady.

    Ron

  4. November 30, 2010 5:53 pm

    Very nice job! Keep it up.

  5. December 8, 2010 12:38 pm

    Very nice text, thank you.

Leave a Reply

