Skip to content

All The Right Moves

December 30, 2010

Today, December 30, 2010 I hit 1000 running miles for 2010.

Anti climatic?  Yes.  Bittersweet?  Absolutely.   A dull ending.   Nothing spectacular happens at the end.  Trivial or commonplace.    Just throwing the words out there.   Its 1000 miles and its no biggie considering all of my friends hitting anywhere from 1500-3000 for the year.

But, its MY 1000 miles and I did it on my own terms.  I did it mostly alone and thats fine with me.   Last year I had the company of great friends.  Some I met for the first time that very night.   And in 1 year we are all still friends.  I used to call all of these folks my “running friends”.   But why make that distinction?   We are all FRIENDS.  Runners or not.   Yes running brought us together and kept us together but that is just a little part of who we all are.

This year while I was alone, I had incredible support.  My sister and mom.   All of my friends.  Everybody at Dailymile and Twitter.   All of you.   So for that I thank you.

As far as my run today, well it was slushy and kinda cool.  For me, the streets are the new sidewalks and the streets are the new boardwalk.   I needed 4 miles to hit 1000 and that put me at 96 miles for the month of December.

I probably won’t do a year in review sort of post OR a goals post for 2011.  I simply just don’t really know.   With my mom’s health fragile at best, I live 1 day at a time now.  If I can run the races I signed up for in January ~ Fred Lebow Classic 5 miler on January 8th and Manhattan Half Marathon on January 22nd, I will be very happy.    If I can run Coogans 5k on March 6th, I will be very happy.

If I can run HATRun on March 19th.  A 50k.  In Maryland.  With so many cool Dailymilers, I will be ecstatic.   And I can’t even think past that point.

Happy And Very Healthy Running to you all in 2011.

I’ve got a feeling, Michelle, that 2011 is going to be your kind of year. That you’ll be happier than you’ve ever been, laughing harder, smiling wider, standing taller, walking lighter, dancing crazier, hugging longer, living grander and loving louder.

Can you feel it, too?
The Universe

When you have the enthusiasm and the passion, you end up figuring out how to excel.   “Deena Kastor”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2010 6:39 pm

    Congrats on getting to 1,000. Great year! Keep taking it one day at a time — life needs to be like that anyway.

  2. December 30, 2010 9:04 pm

    i might not even hit 750 due to an abundance of merry eating and drinking instead of running. so CONGRATS! i think it’s an amazing feat, a goal i hope to accomplish next year!
    happy new year! and so glad to have met you this year.

  3. December 31, 2010 4:14 am

    You going to pop the ultra cherry next year too? I’m staring down a 50k in the summer on trails. Can’t decide which one though.

  4. December 31, 2010 2:05 pm

    Congrats! The hoopla and your posts about finishing last year were so fun. But there’s something to be said for the challenge that you carry out calmly, surely, and despite the fact that no one’s cheering.

    I didn’t make own 1000 mile goal, but the running continues. It will be the 1000 mile 400 days (or so…) 🙂

  5. January 4, 2011 2:21 pm

    To someone like me, it’s impressive. So congrats.

  6. January 4, 2011 11:55 pm

    Congrats on 1000! It’s a lot of miles!

Trackbacks

  1. Year’s End « RunWestchester

Leave a Reply

