Skip to content

P.S. You Rock My World…

June 12, 2009

moneky

It was really good for me, was it for you?

In life, you reach many plateaus a comparatively stable level in something that usually varies.  I am the type of person that loves to see results in whatever I endeavor to take on.  Whether it be losing weight, keeping up with my blogs and friends, or more importantly with my running.  

I am beginning to feel as though I am stuck in a constant rut of the same mileage and same frequency per week.  I’ve read that  over time, your body becomes more efficient at performing the same job (running 4-5 miles a day), and uses up less calories this way.  Metabolism also is affected, because its becoming more efficient and doesn’t burn as many calories as well.  If your metabolism goes at a standstill and doesn’t get ‘fired up’ any more than it needs to, weight gain can happen.  No surprise there.

So, I am really feeling the need to stir the pot a bit.  Both Samantha and I are reading the book Born to Run. and I think she is feeling the need to shake it up a bit, so this weekend we are going to run on the beach, barefoot.  YEAH!  Hey, why not?  It is not far to the beach and if we get hot, we can jump in the ocean and frolic a bit.   

Plus, this past week has been a challenge for me.  The weather has been, hideous to say the least.  Rainy and humid makes for hard running for me.  I wonder if it’s just me?  I’ve been having trouble just completing a 5 miler, which at this point in my running, should become easier, not harder.  So, I get very frustrated.

The one good thing I’ve noticed in all my runs this past week is that my pace consistently gets faster towards the end of my run, which is what I have been striving to do.  

I’ve made so many amazing friends through my blog and twitter and facebook – running friendships that I feel will last a lifetime!  I dig that.  It makes me feel hopeful that there are indeed good people out there, willing to take the time to encourage and be supportive.  I dig that a lot.  

Stats for my last two runs:

Wednesday June 10th 5 miles 52.44  10.32 min/mile Fastest mile 10.11

Thursday     June  11th 4 miles 43.14  10.48 min/mile  Fastest mile 10.17

I need to break this and maintain closer to a 10 min mile for the entire run.  I think that is entirely doable.  I need to go back to the start.  Back, to why I started running to begin with all those years ago, and why I fell in love with it!  So, I shall do it!

A little Nirvana for a Friday morning –  Plateau

Many a hand has scaled the grand old face of the plateau
Some belonged to strangers, some to folks you know
Holy ghosts and talk show hosts are planted in the sand
To beautify the foothills, and shake the many hands

nothing on the top but a bucket and a mop
And an illustrated book about birds
See a lot up there but don’t be scared
Who needs action when you get words

finished with the mop then you can stop
And look at what you’ve done
The plateau’s clean, no dirt to be seen
And the work it was fun

nothing on the top but a bucket and a mop
And an illustrated book about birds
See a lot up there but don’t be scared
Who needs action when you get words

Many a hands began to scan around for the next plateau
Some say it was Greenland, and some say Mexico
Others decided it was nowhere except for where they stood
But those were all just guesses, wouldn’t help you if they could


10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 1:48 pm

    The day will come when the goals shift from how low the number is, or how far for that matter, to something a little more… esoterical (sic?). In your case, may this day be long in coming :-)

    p.s. Frolicking alone is well worth running on the beach!

  2. June 12, 2009 7:39 pm

    go jump in the lake… errr Ocean. Haha. Have a great weekend, and hope the barefoot run goes well!

  3. June 12, 2009 7:58 pm

    Good luck with the beach run!

    As for that first picture … I myself would never sleep with a sock puppet.

    But a suck puppet?

    O, YEAH!

  4. June 12, 2009 10:54 pm

    Boy, I am looking back to when I first started my run four years ago. My average pace was 10 to 11 minutes. My weight that time was 185 lbs with cholesterol level close to 300. Fast forward to today… weight steady at 150 lbs and cholesterol level now at 170. My pace is now averaging 8 to 9 minutes. There is a huge benefit for everyone who does running. It does promote a healthy lifestyle.

    After you do the beach running, go and dive in the ocean. Its invigorating after a good hard workout.

  5. June 13, 2009 12:49 am

    We all have goals and hope to improve!

  6. June 13, 2009 2:09 am

    oh i am terrible at running at the beach because i just want to stop and go in the water! :) glad the running is going well with those fast-finishes; i’m sure you will break through the plateau in no time.

  7. June 15, 2009 1:27 am

    Hey girl!
    Sry i haven’t been around.
    Looks like your running is doing great!
    Running on the beach barefoot in the sand. How fun! Then splash into the ocean! yeah that’s the ticket…

  8. June 15, 2009 1:05 pm

    Ha – no, it is not just you. Humid running is VERY miserable.

    I always tell people that they’re going to have good runs and bad runs. Sounds like you are due for a whole stretch of good ones!

  9. June 16, 2009 12:59 am

    Hope the beach run was fun and recharged your system! You’ll be breaking 10′s before you know it!

  10. June 16, 2009 9:43 pm

    I know you will go sub-30 on your 5K race. Just make sure to take off the 2 days before for rest, and maybe decrease the mileage a bit the 5-7 days leading up to the race so your legs are all full of boing-boing energy to run you to your goal!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

