Skip to content

~ Isn’t It Ironic? ~

June 21, 2010

Toes ~ what are they good for?   Absolutely NOTHING.

Today, I planned a run in my Vibrams.   My longest run in them yet.  I went to Prospect Park because I also wanted some hill work.   Now let me preface this by saying, I do not blame the Vibrams for what happened to my toe.   I love my Vibrams.

So, I was running along and really enjoying myself.   I veered off to the left to the grassy/dirt area so I would have a different feeling run with my Vibrams on.   I wanted to experience it all.   Running in the dirt and grass was a lot of fun.   There were twigs and sticks to jump over so I guess it was a bit of “trail” running and I use that term lightly here.

I got over the hill fine, kept on running.   I believe I finished the first loop and was on my way to the water fountain which I knew was 1.04 miles away.   So again I veered off to the left and began some more “trail” running.   At one point the dirt and grass ended and so I wanted to get back to the road and as I was doing that, I stubbed my left pinky toe HARD.   Very hard.  Picture a cartoon character with stars and that would be me.

Then when the stars were just twinkling in front of my face smaller and smaller, I started running again.  I had to.  I was nowhere near my car and no way was I walking.  I was starving and needed food.  It didn’t really hurt too much to run so I ran and ran until I got back to my car.

By then, I had run more miles in the Vibrams than any other run before.

5.60 Miles 55.58 9.59 min/mile
Longest mileage to date in my Vibrams.
Mile 1 10.11
Mile 2 10.27 (uphill)
Mile 3 9.14
Mile 4 10.10 (after stub)
Mile 5 10.10
Mile 0.60 5.42 (9.30 min/mile)

So miles 4-5-and part of 6 were post stub.  Or after stub as I like to call it.

I will not sit here and be all upset or say how I suck and should have been more careful or say I will never run in Vibrams again.  No way.   What I have learned along the way is that shit happens.  You can either choose to deal with it positively or or crawl under the covers and not emerge until its healed.   I choose to deal very positively.

It definitely “feels” broken.  It’s purple, swollen and hurts to touch it.

Luckily I don’t start Marine Corp Marathon Training until July 20th.  Just about 1 month from now.  I am quite confident I can and will start training on the day I am supposed to start.  All I have this week is:

Speed tomorrow night.  Not sure about Wednesday.   NYRR Wall Street Run (3 miles) on Thursday night.  Not missing that one.  I did have plans for a 5k race on Sunday up on my boardwalk, but I am not sure about that one.  I can register the day of the race, so that is what I will do.  If I feel up to it, I will register to run it the day of.

I need to be healthy for July 20th marathon training.   I cannot and will not miss that.  I was told that pinky toes don’t serve much purpose except to get in the way of everything and then you stub it and it breaks.  And its annoying and ironic and funny all at the same time.

I am going to call myself a clumsy klutzy lady.   I will also say, I am giggling thinking about how ironic it all is.   I will also say, my toe hurts much less walking barefoot than with a shoe on.   Not sure I can get my Vibrams on right now though.

Some Stats:

The last 2 weeks were both 30 mile running weeks for me.  I was happy about that because I want to ramp up my mileage.   This past Saturday I ran 9 miles with my friend Eva in Prospect Park.   We employed the run/walk method which actually worked out very nicely.   Good run ~ good mileage ~ great company.   I’ve got 9 days to hit another 100 mile month.  I am at 86 miles for June so far.   I am at 523 miles for the year so far.   Nice.   With 6 months to go and marathon training, I am sure to hit 1000 miles or more.

I am working hard on speed.   I will see where my weekly speed workouts take me when I am officially in training.  I feel really good.   I’ve been in a bit of a running groove.

Emotionally, I’ve had some ups and downs.   Mostly stuff with my mom and her leukemia.  It’s a bit hard for me to talk about it but there are some things gong on with my mom that need tending to.

So to quote my friend PunkRockRunner on Twitter:
Pinky toes are such drama queens. I’d just cut it off. Oh, you could ice/tape it too. That’s another option 🙂

Maybe, I will let my toe be a drama queen for a little while longer.  At least while I ice it and tape it up all ugly looking.

The one thing “bad days” have over “good days,” is that they’re completely optional.

Every day is a “whooohoooo” day,
The Universe

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 7:42 pm

    With how much you’ve run this year, you’ve built an awesome base for your marathon training. Even if the toe forces you to step back and go easy on the miles for a couple of weeks, you’ll be fine.

  2. June 21, 2010 8:16 pm

    ah the pinkie toe….my favorite toe to break!! Actually, I seem to break alot of toes! I’ve broken my right pinkie toe twice, the left pinkie once and then my “left index” toe on my left foot once-yeah that one shattered! Fun stuff!!

    The first time I broke my pinkie toe I went to the Emergency room-silly me!! I didnt know that all i should do is ice and buddy it to the other toe!! That was a week before the LA Marathon-and I couldnt run it! That sucked!

    You will be able to run on it-as the doctor told me that first time-it just depends on your level of comfort or discomfort as the case may be!!

    I now have a deformed right pinkie toe-it’s just a little reminder to watch where I walk!!

    Ice and take care of the Drama Queen!

  3. Eva permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:17 pm

    Aw, Michelle, I hope your pinky toe is better very soon! The pinky toe really doesn’t serve a purpose, but it hurts when you bang it like any other toe. I hope the pain and swelling subsides & normal color returns. Take good care of it.

    It was awesome to run with you on Saturday! Thanks for encouraging me to stick with it for the whole 9 miles and getting me over those hills! I’m glad we did! I look forward to running with you again soon!

  4. June 21, 2010 8:27 pm

    You know you are my hero, but quit beating the crap out of your feet. OK? 🙂

  5. Ms V. permalink
    June 21, 2010 10:47 pm

    oh. holy ouch.

    these are necessary days, eh miss joy?

  6. June 22, 2010 12:11 am

    Boooooooooooooo. I’m with punk rock runner. Those things are good for nothing…. tape it next to the other one and keep on chugging away!

  7. June 22, 2010 12:30 am

    I’m with David. You’ve got a good base, so make sure you listen to that drama queen and rest if you have to. Looking forward to a VFF run in November with ya!

  8. June 22, 2010 12:54 am

    well crud. you and toes…

  9. June 22, 2010 2:04 am

    there’s nothing good about a broken toe. Our first half marathon, kelley broke her toe 2 days before and still beat me by 25 seconds! i can’t stand running in the vibram’s. good on ya.

  10. June 22, 2010 3:24 pm

    Now we know what the pigs go to the market all the time. Hang in there babe! The one thing “bad days” have over “good days,” is that they’re completely optional. – > this is a fabu mantra!

    You definitely are paying attention and following good training principles. I hope it all gets easier for you.

  11. June 24, 2010 1:33 am

    i sure hope your toe isn’t broken!! i have been slack at running in my vibs… ugh 😦 i hate when i am lazy!

Trackbacks

  1. Yogi Quote of the Week: Your body is smarter than you. Listen to it! « Adiventures

Leave a Reply

