Skip to content

I Beat You Rain..

June 22, 2009

love-heart-cloud

The weather here in NY has been just horrific the past couple of weeks.  Rain – rain and even more rain.  Saturday called for – yep you guessed right…more rain.  So I ran a nice 6 miler and beat the rain.   A LSD run I suppose.  I am needing to start upping my mileage as I am training for and running the NYC Half Marathon on August 16th.  

I am having a bit of a dilemma in my head about how I want to approach this race.  Do I want to fun run it?  Shall I set a goal time?  Should I try to PR?  Yes to all of the above of course.  I want every race I run to be fun.  I sure want to have a goal in my head and without a doubt I want to PR the thing.

But, I also live in the real world where real life things can occur.  So, I don’t put much pressure on these sorts of things.  Yeah right.  

I do admit, I am falling in love with running all over again.  With me its been an on again – off again love affair.  I have gotten many great highs from running, but I have also had just as many lows.  Injury after injury – mile after mile – I always come back to the place where I just love it.  For its simplicity.  For its ease.  

I am not the runner I once was nor will I ever be.  But, that does not mean I am not a better runner now than I once was.  Better, in the sense that I appreciate it more and more.  I don’t want an injury to take me out again.  But, I need to be smarter this time around.  We all know there are OK pains to run with and not so OK pain.  We know this.  I know this.

Last night I had a family dinner thing and I had a lot of laughs.  (sorry for the segue)  I sat next to my cousin Mark who in all the years I know him, has been as skinny as can be.  He smokes cigars and I assume does not exercise.  So, last night I asked him “Hey Mark, do you exercise at all?”  Mark said “We have Wii Fit at home”.  Yeah but do you exercise?  I asked.  Again, his answer was Wii Fit but he didn’t say he used it just that he has it.  So what, does he exercise by osmosis or something?  His daughter Sarah at 10 years old is skinny as skinny can be.  She is active.

So, as I was perusing the menu, I realized that there was hardly any really healthy choices.  Sure, there was fish on the menu but somehow I felt as though if I did not cook it myself I wasn’t sure what I was getting.  In the end, I went with the trout and a sweet potato plus a nice salad and sauteed spinach.  

Today, I ran a consistent 5 miler.  I also ripped my shirt right off my back.  Ok, well after about almost 4 miles I was drenched and felt as though I needed my body free of clothes.  NO NO NO I did not run the last 1.2 miles naked.  Sports bra – shorts – socks – kicks.  I tried picturing myself and how I looked but honestly I didn’t really even care.  My chubby tummy was neatly tucked into my Nike running shorts so all was good.  Plus, I wasn’t getting any funny looks from anybody so maybe I looked like an elite runner out there.  Who knows?

I am awaiting an ipod shuffle.  My beloved old ipod nano has decided not to charge anymore.  Guess it just got tired and needs a rest.  So, the shuffle with its cute clip on will do the trick for me. 

Todays Stats:

5 miles   51.40   10.19 min/mile   Best pace  7.38 min/mile

Mile 1   10.27

Mile 2  10.45  (no idea what happened here)

Mile 3   10.31

Mile  4  10.02

Mile  5 9.56

Negative splits.  

If you can understand, dear Michelle, that the 3 greatest obstacles between you and the life of your wildest dreams are actually imaginary, a product of your mind alone, I do believe we’ll blow the wheels clear off this popsicle stand.

 

“Push-Ups” for everyone, 
    The Universe

youcan

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 11:17 pm

    I try not to think about how I look when I run in just a sportsbra either. Sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do!

  2. June 23, 2009 12:27 am

    Sounds like you are in a good place, mentally. Thinking straight and sound! Good run, too. Good job on the pace and the negative splits. 🙂

  3. June 23, 2009 12:28 am

    Nice post! I always run in a sports bra only on top (unless it’s freezing, then I start with a jacket that usually ends up tied around my waist). In the winter I have arm warmers, but still just wear the bra. I get SO hot when I run that I don’t really care what other people think. lol They can look the other way.

    It’s nice getting to know you. Run well.

    Gina

  4. June 23, 2009 12:42 am

    O, man, I’d have to wear a truss to hold MY gut in if I took my shirt off when I ran, sister. But the jiggling flab would mesmerizing anyone who looked at it, so I’d be safe from any laughter.

    Hahahahaha!

    But then, I routinely take my pants off to show off my great Flat Irish @$$.

    Don’t you hate those skinny foax who never do a lick of work or exercise yet still stay skinny? You should have punched him!

    Nice job on the 5 miler, sister! If you ask me, job one in a race is always … try to enjoy it!

    It ain’t always easy to …

  5. June 23, 2009 12:43 am

    This just remind me of a chick who took the shirt off and sported a bra after a heated soccer game. What was her name? Brandi ?? Must be the trend ??

    Way to go M — glad you are now appreciating the finer things about running! Enjoy every minute of it !

  6. June 23, 2009 12:50 am

    Ted – Brandi Chastain and yes I sure remember that. It was awesome. I may be running in sports bra a lot this summer! GOOD LUCK TOMORROW!

    hehe jiggling flab huh? Nah, your body is awesome. That photo you posted on your blog is still etched into my mind. :O)

    Gina thank you. I am glad I am not the only sports bra running lady.
    Sheila yep I am in a pretty good place with my running.

    Lisa yep your right about that!

  7. June 23, 2009 2:00 am

    Nice job on the run today! You rock!

  8. June 23, 2009 3:59 am

    Very good Run!
    “I am not the runner I once was nor will I ever be.”
    I disagree!
    You have the mentality that you will run the rest of your life. You haven’t even hit your peak yet.
    I will never run as fast as I use to- BY FAR! But I will be a better runner than I was when I was younger. I know I will and so will you. Better doesn’t always mean faster. I more proud of what I have accomplished now.Think about the happiness that you have with running.
    We both love it!

  9. June 23, 2009 9:19 am

    i definitely cannot wear just a sports bra. i am hoping one day… maybe next summer, if i actually stick to a workout plan from now until then. 🙂 more power to ya!

    glad you were able to dodge the rain, it has been coming down a lot lately. nice job on the negative splits too. i think you can definitely aim for a pr in the aug half – might help as extra motivation to make you train through these hot days.

  10. June 23, 2009 1:20 pm

    You are in a good place!! Are you sure you want to try and be competitive this soon? The choice, of course, is yours, but you gotz time 🙂

  11. June 23, 2009 1:34 pm

    Isn’t it really unfair how some people are skinny, just because. I have to work so dang hard at it.

    I’m glad you’re in a good place with running. That is the best place to be!

    Have an awesome day friend!

  12. June 23, 2009 5:42 pm

    I love running in the rain! Run for fun. My motto!

  13. June 24, 2009 1:32 am

    sounds like we both got our share of wet weather… like Ted said, glad you’re appreciating running again 🙂 Stay healthy k?

  14. June 24, 2009 4:06 pm

    Nice job on the shirtless run 😉 Running and I aren’t always friends either – it’s a roller-coaster kind of relationship. It sounds like you are in a great place right now. Good luck with the new training!

  15. June 30, 2009 11:06 pm

    I heard about all of the wet weather in NYC over the past few weeks. Matt and Meridith on the today show have always looked quite miserable out talking to their fans.

    That is exciting that you have another 1/2 marathon coming up! I have a hard time running w/out a “goal”. Why not have an A, B, and C goal in mind? That always works well for me.

Leave a Reply

