Skip to content

Pardon me, but would ya mind if I fired me cannon through your porthole?

September 21, 2009

DSC02274

I know I treat running as if it was a complicated scientific experiment ~ but really it is simple.  One foot in front of the other faster and faster.  So easy and so simple.

I have been doing speed workouts and fartleks during my daily runs.  And it is all working and making me faster.

But, I don’t want my running to be complicated.  I want it to be joyful and enjoyable and fun.  I want to end each and every run with a big grin on my face.  I don’t want to hurt myself doing what I love, because then I won’t love it anymore and I can’t have that.

After reading a post by my friend Cris it really got me thinking.  It got me thinking how much I DO NOT want to run a marathon.  At least not right now.  I don’t want to burn out during training.  I don’t want to come to hate each and every run.  To me, that is not what my running is about.

Sure, I want to run faster and I will.  Sure, I will run races but not marathons.  Shorter distances for me are much more doable and much more enjoyable.  Not wanting to run a marathon doesn’t make me less of a runner.  I’ve had some pretty darn good runs lately.

Sunday 5 miles  49.32  Felt amazing and could have run more but decided to stop at 5.  Today ran 6 miler in 1.02.39.  Another run that felt easy.  Perhaps the speed workouts I’ve been doing are actually working??  Why have I never done speed workouts before?  Plus, I am feeling healthy, no injuries to speak of.  So why play with what is working for me?  Why screw up a good thing?

Here is a bit of a write up about my 55 mile bike ride called NY Century!

You know when your wearing a hat all day long ~ then you take the hat off but you still kinda feel like your wearing a hat? Well I feel like my helmet is still on my head, only its not.

What a ride. This was the most I have ever ridden. EVAH! The reason it says 52.87 is because my garmin decided to run out of battery. And it was fully charged when I started the ride. NOT COOL GARMIN!

Some funny stuff:
We rode by Nathans in Coney Island and I saw many of the cyclists eating there and on line to buy hotdogs. So, I stop and ask is this a rest stop ~ and they all scream out “this is our informal hotdog reststop”. Now, I live about 10 minutes from Nathans so why I stopped there is anyones guess. Why I then bought and ate Nathans french fries at 10am in the morning is also anyones guess. They were really good though! :O)

Then we rode right past my apartment building at about mile 25 I think.

We rode through many many “hoods” that I would never ride to by myself, which was actually pretty cool. Then some not so nice “hoods”. Lots of turning and hills and ups and downs.

The Triboro Bridge was really bad. I guess if I had looked at the sheet they had given us at the start I would have seen this:
“Onto Triboro Bridge Ped/Bike Path Dismount and Walk Bike Caution – Many sets of stairs. So I dismounted – many times.

All in all it was a fun day. My quads – legs – shins all fine.

I think I may do this next http://www.nycc.org/eny/ Sounds like a nice route.

It was a lot of fun ~ this cycling.

“Do not wish to be anything but what you are, and try to be that perfectly” – Sir Francis de Sales

IMG00205

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 4:38 pm

    Yes. Running a marathon does not make you a runner….or a better runnner. Having fun, enjoying it….

  2. September 21, 2009 5:02 pm

    Mmmmm… French fries… Who said running a marathon isn’t fun? It’s all a matter of perspective…

  3. September 21, 2009 5:49 pm

    great ride! glad you had fun. i did 45 miles yesterday, and 60 next saturday. of course i’m not riding through the city. very cool!

  4. September 21, 2009 6:26 pm

    Next year go for the full Century….it’s an amazing experience, plus you can say you rode a bike 100 miles – it’s kind of like saying you ran a marathon….but without the marathon stress, I’m so with ya on that one!

    Are you running Cow Harbor next weekend? I know last year it was on your radar….sadly, I am not, running the Hampton’s Half instead!!!

    Liz

  5. September 21, 2009 10:25 pm

    You have made an outstanding point! You are a runner regardless of the distance. Long or short. Who cares? The most important thing is how much you love and embrace. There are people out there who loves doing short as well as long. Most importantly, you live to run and live to run.
    P.S. I have enjoyed immensely about your bike expedition especially the informal hotdog pit-stop ! Oy oy oy !!!

  6. September 22, 2009 12:47 am

    I was just thinking on my run tonight how I really could care less about running a second marathon. While the experience was one of the best in my running life, it doesn’t shape the type of runner I am now. In fact, my running has turned to shit in the past two years because of running a marathon. When training for a marathon, you run for the sake of running. For me, there were too many moments of frustration to want to do it again. Not saying I won’t do another one or that one day you shouldn’t, but I understand where you’re coming from. If you’re enjoying it right now, why change anything?

  7. September 22, 2009 1:15 am

    I Couldnt have said it better myself! I agree 100%!!!!! 🙂

  8. September 22, 2009 1:22 am

    grr we both had garmin troubles! boo garmin!

    nothing wrong with not-marathoning now, or ever! you are still a runner of course and why do something you may not enjoy? i’m just glad you are enjoying running and racing 🙂 maybe one day you’ll decide to do a marathon, but if not, running shorter races are just as much of an accomplishment.

  9. September 22, 2009 12:36 pm

    Glad you enjoyed cycling. Well done! 🙂

  10. September 22, 2009 2:34 pm

    I like this post! 🙂

  11. September 23, 2009 5:17 am

    You look so serious in your helmet! 🙂 nice job!!

  12. September 23, 2009 10:50 pm

    Such a nice ride, Michelle! Sounds like a lot of fun. I’m hooked on doing marathons, though. My one and only got me stuck. But that doesn’t mean everyone is. You’re a great runner. Way to go!

  13. PunkRockRunner permalink
    October 1, 2009 5:55 pm

    Keep running the way you are and you’ll get faster and faster and faster. Also, I wouldn’t stress about the full 26.2. I’m starting to really like the 13.1 races because I can train and run without killing my legs. A full marathon is a huge commitment of time and sometimes it’s better to just enjoy the process of getting faster.

    Adding the bike is a great way to mix it up too!

    Great post (as always).

    Take care,

    Ron

  14. October 4, 2009 1:31 am

    Good for you for making your goals for YOU, not some arbitrary idea of what you *should* do next. You know that the best next race for you is the one that makes you feel happy and fulfilled while you’re training. And can we pause for a minute and appreciate that 13.1 miles isn’t exactly the kind of race you can just call in? Keep rockin’ with your bad self and your confidence in your dreams!

  15. October 14, 2009 4:24 pm

    I think the least enjoyable part about a marathon is the training. I can’t even imagine. No, I can’t go out tonight because I have 4hrs of running in the morning. What the hell? That’s not how I’d like to spend my day.

Leave a Reply

